Automatic Qualifiers to the 2015 Ultimate NHL Playoff

As in the inaugural Ultimate NHL Playoff, there are three automatic qualifiers. The ’19-’20 Quebec Bulldogs, the ’34-’35 St. Louis Eagles and the ’30-’31 Philadelphia Quakers all automatically qualify for the tournament since those seasons are the only one of those respective franchises to play in the NHL.

Also, the reigning champs, the ’76-’77 Montreal Canadiens, do not qualify for this tournament. The Canadiens will still have a representative, but the ’76-’77 team cannot be their representative. The same goes for any of the future tournament champions for the foreseeable future. At some point there will be a “champions” tournament where only teams that win an UNP can qualify. When will that happen? I don’t know yet.

This entry was posted in Qualifying Tournament, Ultimate NHL Playoff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s